SUMNER MCKANE
Documentaries & Music




CURRENT SHOWS


THE NORTHEAST BY EASTERN


The Northeast by Eastern combines Eastern Illustrating and Publishing Company’s comprehensive collection of early 20th century photographs of rural New England and Upstate New York, with archival film footage, interviews, oral histories, and a live musical soundtrack by Sumner McKane and Josh Robbins. The stories and images illustrate an era unlike any other in American history. Interviews and oral histories not only detail the history of the Eastern Illustrating and Publishing Co., and the postcard craze of the early 1900s; but also divulge stories from a quieter, simpler, yet stirring and enterprising time period. The audience hears first-hand accounts of smuggling during prohibition, of river drivers brawling for fun, of growing up without worry and without constant adult supervision, and of slop buckets spilling on tourists’ pies. These accounts are woven together amidst an exceptional backdrop of archived films and Eastern Illustrating’s exceptional work.

THE MAINE FRONTIER

Through the Lens of Isaac Walton Simpson

The Maine Frontier features the exemplary documentary photography of Isaac Simpson, complimented by archived and current films, interviews of Simpson family members, and a compelling musical soundtrack. The Maine Frontier is a vivid and authentic illustration of northern Maine at the turn-of-the-century, and will transport you back to the region’s pioneering frontier culture. Isaac Simpson, his photographic subjects, his wife Effie, their friends, family, and work-mates exemplify the character and condition prevalent in northern Maine at that time.

IN THE BLOOD


An illustration of the turn-of-the-century Maine lumbermen & river drivers
The film/exhibit employ stories and descriptions told by the men themselves, thus offering an accurate, detailed, and seemingly personal experience- as though you are sitting in a camp listening to the men. You will forget, at least fleetingly, you are watching on a screen and not sitting in a camp, driving down a river, or rolling on the yard. The illustration that In The Blood provides, sheds a new light on the character, history, and importance of these legendary Maine men. The experience is a striking virtual journey into the 19th century Maine woods.




Tuesday, July 5
The Maine Frontier
Deertrees Theatre
Harrison, ME
7:30 pm
$15
www.deertrees-theatre.org


Thursday, August 4
In The Blood
Leavitt Theatre
Ogunquit, ME
8 pm
$10
www.leavittheatre.com


Friday, August 5
The Maine Frontier
Bayside
Northport, ME
7 pm


Monday, August 8
In The Blood
Schoodic Arts for All Summer Festival
Hammond Hall
Winter Harbor, ME
7 pm
www.schoodicartsforall.org


Friday, August 12
In The Blood
Moosehead Historical Society - Greenville, ME
Forest Heritage Days


Friday, August 26
In The Blood
Araxine Wilkins Sawyer Memorial Building
Greene, ME
2 pm & 7 pm shows
www.sawyer-foundation.com

Saturday, September 3
Northeast by Eastern
Leura Hill Eastman Performing Arts Center
Fryeburg, ME


Friday, September 9
Northeast by Eastern
Johnson Hall
Gardiner, ME


Sunday, September 11
Northeast by Eastern
Center Theatre
Dover-Foxcroft, ME


Friday, September 16
In The Blood
Colonial Theatre
Bethlehem, NH
www.bethlehemcolonialtheatre.org


Tuesday, September 27
In The Blood
Cumberland Fair
Cumberland, ME
1 pm - Entertainment Building
www.cumberlandfair.com


Sunday, October 9
In The Blood
West End Studio Theatre
Portsmouth, NH
2 pm
www.actonenh.org


Thursday, October 27
Northeast by Eastern
Strand Theatre
Rockland, ME
7 pm


Friday, October 28
Northeast by Eastern
Firehouse Center for the Arts
Newburyport, MA
7 pm


Friday, November 4
Northeast by Eastern
Frontier Cinema/Cafe
Brunswick, ME


Friday, November 5
Northeast by Eastern
The Grand
Ellsworth, ME


Sunday, November 13
Northeast by Eastern
Railroad Square Cinema
Waterville, ME
more info


Monday, November 14
Northeast by Eastern
Colonial Theatre
Belfast, ME


Friday, December 30
Northeast by Eastern
St Lawrence Arts Center
Portland, ME
More info


Wednesday, January 11
Maine Frontier
Small Woodland Owners Assoc of Maine convention
Augusta Civic Center - 1PM
Augusta, ME


Saturday, January 28
Northeast by Eastern
Lincoln Theater - 2PM
Damariscotta, ME


Saturday, March 4
Northeast by Eastern
Farmington North Church -
Farmington, ME